Posted on

There are Devil’s Advocates for Literally Every Fucking Topic

I feel like blaring Boston’s “Peace of Mind” and living in an isolated fucking cabin in the middle of nowhere, except if I lived out that way, I probably would receive shitty internet and I’d lose interest. I enjoy reading (books and online articles) and keeping up with sports too much to live that way.

There’s always a counter argument to everything. I don’t care, most of the time, but I’m sick of folks like my girlfriend’s mom continuously having a smartass remark to every single statement made. She wonders why I’m so goddamn quiet all the time. Asides from the fact that I’m normally quiet and don’t have a case of diarrhea of the mouth, I just don’t feel like hearing some dumbass, nonsensical remark from someone after every single sentence.

Celebrity rarely; grind daily.

Colin Cowherd yells that quote into the microphone sometimes on Fox Sports 1. He used to say it a lot while on ESPN.

But I love that quote, along with “live through the windshield; not the rearview mirror.”

But there are devil’s advocates who will say, “Well, you gotta celebrate sometimes! Life is too short!” and others who say, “Well! You gotta take your past into account when making future decisions, because you can always learn from your past!”

Please, just please, shut the fuck up.

“Celebrity rarely; grind daily” means to not celebrate every fucking day. Stay hungry. Stay on the grind. Don’t lose your hustle.

“Live through the windshield; not the rearview mirror” means to look forward instead of wasting time wallowing in the mire of your past.

It’s too early to be this fired up, but I just downed 500mg of caffeine in one fell swoop and watered my garden because the sun has been hitting my lettuce, peppers, onions, potatoes and cucumber plants too hard the past couple of days and I keep forgetting to water them.

My girlfriend is taking us on some hike today in a place I’ve never been. It’s funny. She’s from a different state than me, and I’ve lived here my entire life, yet she’s showing me a place I’ve never been. Let’s go.

I don’t mean to blast so many expletives above, but they are the perfect words to create emphasis in a sentence. If you think I lack a broad lexicon and resort to expletives instead, you may be right. If so, fuck you.

3 responses to “There are Devil’s Advocates for Literally Every Fucking Topic

  1. [ Smiles ] There will always be those people who will always have a “smartass” remark to everything that you say; ignore them and maintain your peace of mind.

    Do have yourself a wonderful week!

    • CES

      Thanks a lot for your sweet comment.

      It’s definitely difficult to ignore them. I just do my best to induce a non-response. No emotion. They can have their sense of “Ha! I got you!” while I will utilize the quote, “I’d rather be thought of as a fool than open my mouth and remove all doubt.” Of course, if I said that out loud, I’d probably be met with, “You are still being thought of as a fool!” Who cares? There will always be people out there who thinks every single one of us individuals are ignorant, incapable, etc. etc. There will always be doubters, whether they express it or not. Other people’s opinions are none of our business.

      Much love to you, stranger. I hope you have a wonder week also. Be safe in your everyday travels, journeys and I wish you the best in all your endeavors you engage in.

Leave a Reply

